Twitch streaming and enjoying it

Hello friends, did you miss me? I didn’t write an article during the week last week as I felt it would be a good time to churn out an article for ‘Australian Tabletop Gaming Network’ on my favourite cards in the newest Pokémon set – ‘Guardians Rising’. However I still want to keep up the pace on posts so here I am winding down from my weekend at my PC.

I wanted to share some thoughts from a Twitch stream I did last week. It wasn’t necessarily out of the ordinary – I streamed a few hours of Mario Kart 8 Deluxe – but I will say that I definitely enjoyed it. I felt like it was a good fit for me in that I enjoy the game, it can be played in short bursts and it isn’t taxing on myself or the viewer.

luigi.jpg
Letsa’ Gooooo~

When I stream, it has usually been the Pokémon Trading Card Game Online. While I do enjoy the game and have relative success in streaming it, I have found the task of maintaining an online account for the game to be taxing at times. It is a digital version of the TCG and as such requires you to work to obtain the cards for it.

I don’t necessarily think this is a bad thing though. It is easy to forget the user base PTCGO is designed for. Not necessarily ‘hyper competitive’ players, but more casual consumers of the Pokémon Trading Card Game.

I’ll leave criticisms of PTCGO to these two opinion pieces by Jay Hornung:

https://sixprizes.com/2014/12/17/mind-if-i-roll-need/
https://sixprizes.com/2016/06/01/further-inspection/

On the other hand, I can just load up Mario Kart and off I go! The game is ‘complete’ out of the box and it has only taken a few hours of play to unlock the parts I need to play the game as I wish to play. A feature of the game I appreciate is that the game has a sense of progression delivered via the points rating system which can increase or decrease depending on how you place in a race online. PTCGO has this as well, but chooses to publish this outside of the boundaries of the game.

Nothing about the Mario Kart 8 Deluxe is a chore. It’s wild and it’s colourful. It draws on Nintendo’s pantheon of IPs in its greatest iteration of the game. I plan to stream it more and see where it takes me.

I leave you with this:
https://clips.twitch.tv/SingleRudePlumDoritosChip

Leave a Reply

